Hello and Happy Holidays from 15c! 

We hope you have a wonderful holiday with your friends and families.  Let us help you with your wine, gourmet foods and gift selections.  2010 is just around the corner and here are a few ideas to celebrate with…

HOLIDAY BUBBLE RECOMMENDATIONS | there is no better way to celebrate then with bubbles…

J Lassalle Chigny Les Roses Premier Cru Champagne NC | $38

This is a grower producer champagne, which only account for less than 5% of all champagne houses and is directly related to quality.  J Lassalle is also a mother/daughter team who create a dosage that is not only elegant but rich and complex.  I like to call it Krug on a budget!  Kermit Lynch is the importer and trust me this is a deal!

Adami Prosecco | $14

This sparkling wine from Italy is made from the grape of the same name in the region of the same name.  It is a lighter style that is made in the tank or charmat method giving it a much fresher fruitier flavor.  This is perfect as an aperitif or for a festive toast.

Jansz | $25

Tasmania is an up in coming wine region that produces cool climate varieties such as Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.  Jansz has been one of my favorite bubbles this year since it was first poured for me by a Master Sommelier over lunch.  It is made in the traditional bottle fermented method and is rich and complex with tiny bubbles and a very light salmon color.

Lini Sparkling Lambrusca | $18

Sparkling Shiraz is sooooo last year and this year its all about the Lambrusca!  It is a dry red sparkling wine that is served chilled in a wine glass or flute.  It is deep plum colored and very festive.  Lambrusca is a red grape that comes from Northern Italy.

Codorniu Pinot Noir Rose Cava | $19

Cava is the sparkling wine of Spain that comes from the Penedes region.  The amazing fact about cava is that the requirements are virtually the same as they are in Champagne only Cava is a fraction of the cost.  In Penedes, the wine must be bottle fermented ensuring small bubbles rising from the bottom of the glass over a period of time as well as aging on the lees.  The lee aging is 9 month minimum for Non Vintage and 3 years for Vintage offering a rich yeasty favor.

 

I drink it when I’m happy and when I’m sad.
Sometimes I drink it when I’m alone.
When I have company I consider it obligatory.
I trifle with it if I’m not hungry and I drink it when I am.
Otherwise I never touch it, unless I’m thirsty.” Lily Bollinger

Leave a Reply

